North Dakota Leadership Seminar is a non-profit organization dedicated to teaching leadership and community service skills to high school sophomores.

Our Story

Since 1981, the North Dakota Leadership Seminar (NDLS) has provided more than 3,500 high school sophomores with the opportunity of a lifetime. What started out as a small project has turned into an exciting annual leadership seminar. Each spring, more than 100 of the state’s top student leaders gather for a three-day, all-expense paid program.

Board of Directors

State_Serious medium

L to R, Back to Front: Jenna Scharmer, Bryce Scharmer, Josh Knutson, Josh Haugen, Mitch Johnson, Steph Foughty, Amanda Kalka, Dana Altendorf, Dustin Whitney, Sara Litton, Kelsey Altendorf, Hailey Scharmer, Jed Geer, Joe Kalka, Ethan Johnson

The Board is a group of experienced volunteers responsible for the overall governing of the North Dakota Leadership Seminar. They assume complete responsibility for the financial success of the organization through writing grants and leading an annual fund drive. The Board also meets at least five times a year to track their progress as they recruit students, assemble the program, line up volunteers, and make all necessary arrangements to ensure the organizations success in planning an OUTSTANDING seminar each year.

2019 Board of Directors

Bryce Scharmer, Co-Chair
Dana Altendorf, Co-Chair
Sara Litton, Director of Adult Staff
Dustin Whitney, Director of Alumni
Jenna Scharmer, Director of Registration
Joe Kalka, Secretary
Josh Knutson, Director of Facilities
Ashley Haugen, Director of Finances
Dorothy Lick, Co-Director of Fundraising
Jed Geer, Co-Director of Fundraising
Steph Foughty, Director of Operations
Mitch Johnson, Director of Program
Amanda Braxton, Co-Director of Recruitment
Hailey Scharmer, Co-Drector of Recruitment
Ethan Johnson, Director of Social Media
Torrin Poss, Director of Volunteerism
Josh Haugen, Director of Technology
Kelsey Altendorf, Director of Community Outreach
Jamie Ressler, Director of Grants
Blake Loomis, Alumni Representative
Sean Prellwitz, Alumni Representative

Chairperson History

Dana Altendorf, Present
Bryce Scharmer, 2016-Present
Rusty Bender, 2015-2017
Jed Geer, 2013-2015
Sara Litton, 2011-2013
Jamie Ressler, 2009-2011
KariAnn Buntrock, 2007-2009
Josh Ressler, 2005-2007
Dorothy Lick, 2003-2004
Julie Black, 2001-2002
Victoria Knudson, 2000
Marti Zinsli, 1998-1999
Wanda Schirado, 1997
Kathy Aemisegger, 1994-1996
Jon Carroll, 1991-1992, 1994
Jim Ridley, 1993
Rick Schirado, 1989-1990
David Sorum, 1988
Marty Thielges, 1985-1987
Remy Stecher, 1984
Tracy Smith, 1982-1983
Rod Breen, 1981
Terry Burke, 1981